Page 5 of 6

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:39 pm
by Menthol
If you do still happen to read ROG forums anymore, there are several people that have said the bios they got off ebay does not work either, one person with his own chip burner said he re-burned the chip himself and got it to work. There is also a couple people saying not to install the Asmedia USB 3.0 driver for the board, using the driver in Windows cures the USB drop outs.

Personal experience with bios off ebay for RIVE, it didn't work ether, I sent them a message, they asked my why I wanted to replace my bios chip in the first place, I replied why do you care, your selling them and they don't work. They refunded my money and sent me 4 chips, none of them worked.

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:50 pm
by nickolp1974
Thanks menthol think i'll stay away then. Tbh the board is not playing correctly so i am going to RMA it. Its hanging alot at 96 now mainly after a cold boot and this is at defaults and win 7 is a pig to boot so somethings not right somewhere, i need to insulate the board etc and i dont want to do that if its faulty.

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:33 am
by nickolp1974
Just been reading about the board and several folks are having the same problems, dead bios chips and 96 Q codes, i'm hoping its a bad batch and not an overall problem with the board.

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:54 am
by WhitePaw
Guys..

Thats the downside with the OC socket.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:59 am
by WhitePaw
2011-3 is kinda sensitive to mounting pressure.. Just wanted to say that

and if the mem modules are swapped around, or removed / re installed = twilight issues

Bios chip killer?.. Belgian gnomes?

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:02 pm
by Hivizman
As more and more of the work the motherboard used to do is transferred to the CPU so mounting and the correct pressure of the mount is going to grow in importance.

For example at the EXPO we had huge issues on the Saturday with the boards they took some tuning. Yet when I played with them after that I found it easy to clock to 5.4GHz with minimal changes made in the bios. The only difference that there could be is the mount. So yeah Paw totally agree with you on this. Mount is key with X99

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:14 am
by meankeys
I am sure I over tighten my mount every time. It's defiantly a habit I would like to brake.

How many PSI should be on the socket any way?

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:02 am
by Hivizman
http://www.intel.co.uk/content/dam/www/ ... -vol-1.pdf

Each time a new CPU is released it is a big aid to overclocking and understanding the CPU to read the white paper. I will find out exactly how much downward pressure there needs to be in the centre of the socket but with LGA2011 it was 98Kg

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:07 am
by meankeys
Thanks viz

I do thumb thru the white papers. I never thought to look on line to read them. I am blind as a bat and they are hard to read. plus 1/2 the stuff in there is way over my head. :roll:

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:20 am
by twisted1
meankeys wrote:I am sure I over tighten my mount every time. It's defiantly a habit I would like to brake.

How many PSI should be on the socket any way?


I did that alot to, even bent some pins that way. Now i just tighten very little.

It would be handy to have a really small torque wrench so you get exactly the same pressure on all four pressure points.

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:29 am
by 1Day
I actually think this paper is the one you want.

http://www.intel.co.uk/content/dam/www/ ... -tmsdg.pdf

It gives you all the loading data that you asked for.

Heatsink Applied Static
Compressive Load
Min 222 N (50 lbf)


Max 400 N (90 lbf)

5.4.2 in the data sheet.

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:22 pm
by WhitePaw
good old TMSDG

20kg-40kg down force

1 kg = 10 N (roughly)

I think EKWB supremacy cpu blocks got about 30 kg if i remember it right, with the stock mechanism

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:01 am
by meankeys
@ pete I never tighten to the point of bending pins but am sure I am over tightening.

1 day thank you. that is exactly what I was looking for. Viz now I know why you married her ;)

Paw big kiss for you too Thanks

Now I tighten enough to compress the mounting springs 3/4 of there total length and measure each one so that way I know there's even pressure.

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 1:34 am
by WhitePaw
meankeys wrote:Paw big kiss for you too Thanks


I knew it, your a girl..

sometimes its hard to tell, who is behind the avatar

Not many girls in this business, more please...

Image

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:01 am
by meankeys
no far from it paw... I was trying to be funny. no I dont swing both ways ether. :shock:

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:05 am
by WhitePaw
Ok, its not your lipstick in the photo?

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:36 am
by meankeys
No you left that here the other night. I use hot pink lol

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:15 am
by Hivizman
meankeys wrote:no far from it paw... I was trying to be funny. no I dont swing both ways ether. :shock:



Ah man - all my hopes and dreams gone in an instant. :lol:

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:36 pm
by nickolp1974
Just had cpu overvoltage error again, 1.85v :shock: quickly shut down, not tested yet that everything is ok, been running 5.1ghz+ for last 5 hours so i'll let it calm down abit.

Actually made it into windows this time, probably due to the -11c temps.
The boards going back anyways on monday

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:48 pm
by twisted1
OV error in aisuite? Or at bios post?

Aisuite is pooooo, I've gotten OV varnings, temp warnings, unstable volt varnings. Don't know how Ausuite measures temps but when you get -100C on cpu on water there's something that's not quite correct :P

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 5:00 pm
by nickolp1974
All info on OC panel, OV notice flashed up on bios splash, went into window checked vcore on OC panel, target was 1.5v and current was showing 1.85v
Currently using SS cooler

Edit:i never use Aisuite, not now, not ever!!

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 7:31 pm
by nickolp1974
Just tested and all good, well apart from an xspc temp monitor i had connected, could smell burning then could see fire!! God knows what happened there, its now a melted mess and in the bin!!

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:26 pm
by nickolp1974
Well no more PC/benching till my boards returned :( heres hoping for a speedy return as i'm on Ipad till then :thumbdown:

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:35 pm
by OverFienD
Get benching that ipad :lol:

Re: My X99 has some problems

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:57 pm
by Hivizman
nickolp1974 wrote:Well no more PC/benching till my boards returned :( heres hoping for a speedy return as i'm on Ipad till then :thumbdown:


Easy enough to send you some stuff to bench mate, just say the word and a motherboard and some CPUs are on there way to you.