[code][/code]

My X99 has some problems

The place to discuss all topics relating to Motherboards and RAM.
User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #76 by nickolp1974 » Sun Nov 09, 2014 10:21 pm

Your telling me, tbh i thought it was a bug but the way the bios was acting leads me to believe the volt reading was correct, thing is i couldn't care less if the mobo blew but the cpu is a different story, i consider myself very lucky with mine as i'm sure you do S_C but what would happen if it did take it out??


Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #77 by nickolp1974 » Sun Nov 09, 2014 11:33 pm

To add to my earlier post my OC panel no longer works, just a blank screen, nothing.
Image

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #78 by meankeys » Tue Nov 11, 2014 4:21 am

That sucks Nick... Will it respond to a firmware update?

Since I removed the M.2 drive All seems as it should and very happy with the results. Still having a problem with the ROG connect. It is possible Viz is right about the .Net I will have to try that. Although .net is install with the AMD CCC
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #79 by nickolp1974 » Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:58 am

Reflashed the bios and gone back to 0706, OC panel now works, but i'm getting lots of usb dropouts, mouse/keyboard will stop/start, have tried 4 OS's and they all o the same so its defo hardware, not sure what to do here as i want to be soon thinking about insulating the board but i dont want to be doing anything to it if its faulty, what do you guys think?? Should i RMA??
Image

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #80 by meankeys » Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:09 am

Nick I feel your pain buddy. That's a tough call. I would wait till you troubleshoot the board a bit more. How are you flashing the bios? USB or UEFI
I would go back to basic's. 1 stick of ram 1 vga and troubleshoot from there. Look what happen to me with the M.2 drive messing me up. good luck bud.
Image

User avatar
Menthol
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:42 pm

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #81 by Menthol » Tue Nov 11, 2014 1:55 pm

When I first got my board I was having USB issues, right off the bat my flashback port would not recognize anything, thumb drive, mouse etc., some mouse and keyboard dropouts, I also had memory instability issues, then I thought a couple bios updates cured it but my CPU went dead on me at about the same time so I replaced it, I don't have any USB issues anymore, and my board is as stable as any board I have ever owned now, were my USB issues resolved by a bios update, or is it possible it was my CPU all along? a good friend told me this may have been the case. I do not know but my board reacts just like it should now, with the 1.3v 4.4, 4.5, 4.6 rule my CPU is between 4.4 and 4.5, but it scales well with voltage and benched pretty damn good

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #82 by nickolp1974 » Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:12 pm

Thats the thing with a new platform as its hard to pinpoint faults, i have definitely found the newest 0802 to be the most stable bios, better booting, no usb dropouts but thats the one that caused the scary high voltage but i may of been stupid and i was pulling/plugging gpu's in with power still in the psu, it was off but not drained, i also did this with the OC panel which may of caused corruption or something. I think as MK said i better go back to basics, reflash both bios chips, 1 ram etc, i dont really have a mild OC profile, if i want to play a game i just run at stock but i do very little of that these days.
Image

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #83 by meankeys » Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:19 am

So Nick your good now?
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #84 by nickolp1974 » Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:39 am

I've no idea as yet, not had time to test fully etc. will investigate more fully tonight after work. Does anyone know if the intel tuning plan can be transferred?? If it did happen to die it would get replaced under normal warranty.
Image

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #85 by meankeys » Wed Nov 12, 2014 10:54 am

Nick... If you havent already just take out the insurance now you have to wait 30 days and then you can submit for warranty.
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #86 by nickolp1974 » Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:27 pm

Yeah i know, i'm gonna sort it tonight.

Message i got back from Asus

Dear Nick,

Thank you for your trust in our support ASUS.
My name is Andy and i will try to offer you the best support for our products.

Concerning your message about the RAMPAGE V EXTREME, i would advise to run everything at defaults as in time overclocking can damage any component that you are using,we especially do not recommend overclocking,even if the motherboard is able to handle it,as signs can be seen over time.

1.4V for a new generation CPU is a very high voltage.

Please try using your system with the default settings and see if it runs normally.

Trying to get warranty work for an overclocked board will not make a reason for warranty or exchange.


So folks if you buy a overclocking board from Asus you have to run at defaults!!
Image

User avatar
Hivizman
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #87 by Hivizman » Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:58 pm

One should not confuse the call centre guys as support. Most of them do not even know what a PC is and follow a script that they read from depending what the issue is.
Image

Keep your nuts safe


There is a forgotten, nay almost forbidden word, which means more to me than any other. That word is England.
Sir Winston Churchill

User avatar
Hivizman
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #88 by Hivizman » Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:00 pm

nickolp1974 wrote:I've no idea as yet, not had time to test fully etc. will investigate more fully tonight after work. Does anyone know if the intel tuning plan can be transferred?? If it did happen to die it would get replaced under normal warranty.



Yes it will be replaced under normal warranty. Phone them up and tell them what is going on, of course do not say to the crowd in The Netherlands (where the RMA centre is) that you are putting 2.4v into your CPU. :shock: :lol: But if you CPU is working as it should at defaults then they will return it back to you.

Takes about 5 working days from the phone call till your RMA is delivered. They arrange the shipping back at their own cost too by the way.
Image

Keep your nuts safe


There is a forgotten, nay almost forbidden word, which means more to me than any other. That word is England.
Sir Winston Churchill

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #89 by nickolp1974 » Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:07 pm

Yeah i had a 4930k exchanged with the plan, from the very first contact to getting my replacement took 10 days which i thought was very good.

Still not sure whats at fault here though, cpu or mobo?? Now did the cpu pull 1.85v or did the mobo give it?? I'm inclined to say the mobo and i'm positive its not a sensor thing by the way the bios was responding.
Image

User avatar
Hivizman
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #90 by Hivizman » Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:13 pm

Bring your mobo up on Friday and lets test with onther CPU.
Image

Keep your nuts safe


There is a forgotten, nay almost forbidden word, which means more to me than any other. That word is England.
Sir Winston Churchill

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #91 by nickolp1974 » Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:19 pm

Yeah ok as long as you keep that flask away! :D
Image

BaDBoY_uK
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #92 by BaDBoY_uK » Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:58 am

I am on 0802 also and I fear I am getting USB dropouts.

Sorry to hear this Nick. There's no bigger heartache than seeing high end components lay dormant due to one other component acting up!

My OC is BF4 stable (the best test IMHO) at 4.4Ghz at 1.3. I could push higher but I don't need it

I have to be honest - I haven't even tried the OC Panel thing. It's sat in the box. Is it worth it?

(Sorry to hijack your post)

Good luck Nick.
New rig incoming

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #93 by nickolp1974 » Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:21 pm

Thx bud i shall get to the bottom of it if it kills me or something!
OC panel is a great tool and i wouldn't be without it now it is so handy and you can certainly grab more points in certain benchmarks.
Just had no time to sort anything last few days as the mrs talked me into getting another dog, so free time is taken up by puppy sitting not that i mind cos it gives me chance to gather thoughts and do some research. I think sometimes its good to step away and do this as its so frustrating at times and others very rewarding. The PC can run faultless and you can bang out the scores and at other times using the same settings it just wont play ball and quite frankly the rage gets strong, this is a time for a break and start again. Cant live with them and cant live without em!!
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #94 by nickolp1974 » Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:11 pm

I have one dead bios rom!!

I have updated bios 1 to 0802 and then tried to copy 1>2 in bios and it just ends up with 00 on the Qcode so i then tried flashback usb method and it just loops with the same 00 powering on and off, time to get hold of Asus.
Image

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #95 by meankeys » Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:41 pm

I hear that brother ;)
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #96 by nickolp1974 » Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:48 pm

UK Asus support is poop, after listening to a recorded message for 2 mins it just tells you to email, why can't i speak to someone!! :evil:
Image

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #97 by meankeys » Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:05 am

Nick....

Have you pulled the cpu and inspected the socket. Your using a chiller? make sure theres no signs of discoloration of the socket pins from condensation. I had that problem and cause similar problems. I very carefully sprayed contact cleaner on the socket pins and dried with compressed air. Just dont touch the socket pins at all. Great care must be taken when working around the cpu socket. 1 little slip will ruined your day for sure.
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #98 by nickolp1974 » Sat Nov 15, 2014 4:08 pm

Not using a chiller at the mo but everything is fine it is defo a bios chip that needs replacing, can anyone link me to what i need, Asus want me to rma the board for a single bios chip, how stupid!!
Image

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #99 by meankeys » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:55 am

nickolp1974 wrote:Not using a chiller at the mo but everything is fine it is defo a bios chip that needs replacing, can anyone link me to what i need, Asus want me to rma the board for a single bios chip, how stupid!!


This 1 of many nick

EBAY

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BIOS-CHIP-ASUS- ... 27ec9f6b28
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #100 by nickolp1974 » Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:36 am

Thanks MK appreciate it, will save me sending my board back!
Image


Return to “Motherboards & RAM”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron