[code][/code]

My X99 has some problems

The place to discuss all topics relating to Motherboards and RAM.
User avatar
Menthol
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:42 pm

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #101 by Menthol » Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:39 pm

If you do still happen to read ROG forums anymore, there are several people that have said the bios they got off ebay does not work either, one person with his own chip burner said he re-burned the chip himself and got it to work. There is also a couple people saying not to install the Asmedia USB 3.0 driver for the board, using the driver in Windows cures the USB drop outs.

Personal experience with bios off ebay for RIVE, it didn't work ether, I sent them a message, they asked my why I wanted to replace my bios chip in the first place, I replied why do you care, your selling them and they don't work. They refunded my money and sent me 4 chips, none of them worked.



User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #102 by nickolp1974 » Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:50 pm

Thanks menthol think i'll stay away then. Tbh the board is not playing correctly so i am going to RMA it. Its hanging alot at 96 now mainly after a cold boot and this is at defaults and win 7 is a pig to boot so somethings not right somewhere, i need to insulate the board etc and i dont want to do that if its faulty.
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #103 by nickolp1974 » Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:33 am

Just been reading about the board and several folks are having the same problems, dead bios chips and 96 Q codes, i'm hoping its a bad batch and not an overall problem with the board.
Image

WhitePaw
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:15 pm
Location: In Bed

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #104 by WhitePaw » Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:54 am

Guys..

Thats the downside with the OC socket.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

WhitePaw
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:15 pm
Location: In Bed

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #105 by WhitePaw » Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:59 am

2011-3 is kinda sensitive to mounting pressure.. Just wanted to say that

and if the mem modules are swapped around, or removed / re installed = twilight issues

Bios chip killer?.. Belgian gnomes?
Last edited by WhitePaw on Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Hivizman
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #106 by Hivizman » Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:02 pm

As more and more of the work the motherboard used to do is transferred to the CPU so mounting and the correct pressure of the mount is going to grow in importance.

For example at the EXPO we had huge issues on the Saturday with the boards they took some tuning. Yet when I played with them after that I found it easy to clock to 5.4GHz with minimal changes made in the bios. The only difference that there could be is the mount. So yeah Paw totally agree with you on this. Mount is key with X99
Image

Keep your nuts safe


There is a forgotten, nay almost forbidden word, which means more to me than any other. That word is England.
Sir Winston Churchill

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #107 by meankeys » Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:14 am

I am sure I over tighten my mount every time. It's defiantly a habit I would like to brake.

How many PSI should be on the socket any way?
Image

User avatar
Hivizman
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #108 by Hivizman » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:02 am

http://www.intel.co.uk/content/dam/www/ ... -vol-1.pdf

Each time a new CPU is released it is a big aid to overclocking and understanding the CPU to read the white paper. I will find out exactly how much downward pressure there needs to be in the centre of the socket but with LGA2011 it was 98Kg
Image

Keep your nuts safe


There is a forgotten, nay almost forbidden word, which means more to me than any other. That word is England.
Sir Winston Churchill

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #109 by meankeys » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:07 am

Thanks viz

I do thumb thru the white papers. I never thought to look on line to read them. I am blind as a bat and they are hard to read. plus 1/2 the stuff in there is way over my head. :roll:
Image

User avatar
twisted1
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:35 am
Location: Sweden

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #110 by twisted1 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:20 am

meankeys wrote:I am sure I over tighten my mount every time. It's defiantly a habit I would like to brake.

How many PSI should be on the socket any way?


I did that alot to, even bent some pins that way. Now i just tighten very little.

It would be handy to have a really small torque wrench so you get exactly the same pressure on all four pressure points.

User avatar
1Day
Sergent
Sergent
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:22 pm

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #111 by 1Day » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:29 am

I actually think this paper is the one you want.

http://www.intel.co.uk/content/dam/www/ ... -tmsdg.pdf

It gives you all the loading data that you asked for.

Heatsink Applied Static
Compressive Load
Min 222 N (50 lbf)


Max 400 N (90 lbf)

5.4.2 in the data sheet.
Music is the pleasure the human mind experiences from counting without being aware that it is counting.
Gottfried Leibniz

WhitePaw
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:15 pm
Location: In Bed

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #112 by WhitePaw » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:22 pm

good old TMSDG

20kg-40kg down force

1 kg = 10 N (roughly)

I think EKWB supremacy cpu blocks got about 30 kg if i remember it right, with the stock mechanism

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #113 by meankeys » Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:01 am

@ pete I never tighten to the point of bending pins but am sure I am over tightening.

1 day thank you. that is exactly what I was looking for. Viz now I know why you married her ;)

Paw big kiss for you too Thanks

Now I tighten enough to compress the mounting springs 3/4 of there total length and measure each one so that way I know there's even pressure.
Image

WhitePaw
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:15 pm
Location: In Bed

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #114 by WhitePaw » Sat Nov 22, 2014 1:34 am

meankeys wrote:Paw big kiss for you too Thanks


I knew it, your a girl..

sometimes its hard to tell, who is behind the avatar

Not many girls in this business, more please...

Image

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #115 by meankeys » Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:01 am

no far from it paw... I was trying to be funny. no I dont swing both ways ether. :shock:
Image

WhitePaw
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:15 pm
Location: In Bed

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #116 by WhitePaw » Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:05 am

Ok, its not your lipstick in the photo?

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #117 by meankeys » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:36 am

No you left that here the other night. I use hot pink lol
Image

User avatar
Hivizman
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #118 by Hivizman » Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:15 am

meankeys wrote:no far from it paw... I was trying to be funny. no I dont swing both ways ether. :shock:



Ah man - all my hopes and dreams gone in an instant. :lol:
Image

Keep your nuts safe


There is a forgotten, nay almost forbidden word, which means more to me than any other. That word is England.
Sir Winston Churchill

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #119 by nickolp1974 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:36 pm

Just had cpu overvoltage error again, 1.85v :shock: quickly shut down, not tested yet that everything is ok, been running 5.1ghz+ for last 5 hours so i'll let it calm down abit.

Actually made it into windows this time, probably due to the -11c temps.
The boards going back anyways on monday
Image

User avatar
twisted1
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:35 am
Location: Sweden

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #120 by twisted1 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:48 pm

OV error in aisuite? Or at bios post?

Aisuite is pooooo, I've gotten OV varnings, temp warnings, unstable volt varnings. Don't know how Ausuite measures temps but when you get -100C on cpu on water there's something that's not quite correct :P

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #121 by nickolp1974 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 5:00 pm

All info on OC panel, OV notice flashed up on bios splash, went into window checked vcore on OC panel, target was 1.5v and current was showing 1.85v
Currently using SS cooler

Edit:i never use Aisuite, not now, not ever!!
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #122 by nickolp1974 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 7:31 pm

Just tested and all good, well apart from an xspc temp monitor i had connected, could smell burning then could see fire!! God knows what happened there, its now a melted mess and in the bin!!
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #123 by nickolp1974 » Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:26 pm

Well no more PC/benching till my boards returned :( heres hoping for a speedy return as i'm on Ipad till then :thumbdown:
Image

User avatar
OverFienD
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 2923
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Parts unknown

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #124 by OverFienD » Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:35 pm

Get benching that ipad :lol:
i7-4790k//MSI Z97 MPOWER
8GB G-Skill DDR3-2666//R9 290 Windforce OC

CPU-i3 4130 @3.4//Asrock H81M-ITX
Case-Coolermaster 120
//PNY Geforce 460 GTX 1GB
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197971927155/

User avatar
Hivizman
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: My X99 has some problems

Post #125 by Hivizman » Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:57 pm

nickolp1974 wrote:Well no more PC/benching till my boards returned :( heres hoping for a speedy return as i'm on Ipad till then :thumbdown:


Easy enough to send you some stuff to bench mate, just say the word and a motherboard and some CPUs are on there way to you.
Image

Keep your nuts safe


There is a forgotten, nay almost forbidden word, which means more to me than any other. That word is England.
Sir Winston Churchill


Return to “Motherboards & RAM”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests