[code][/code]

Windows 10

Discuss all PC Operating System and general software news, reviews, problems etc.
(Game discussions should be posted in The Games Room forum)
User avatar
Pjsprojects
Cadet
Cadet
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:56 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post #51 by Pjsprojects » Sat Aug 01, 2015 2:13 am

Well what a day with Win 10 up to now.

I was running the tech preview with no problems,however due to installing a new motherboard I had to install Windows again. So I installed my Windows 7 pro and went to update to Win 10 full retail but that's when problems start because my Win 7 key was showing as no longer valid.
After mucho messing around I asked Microsoft online tech help to sort my none working Win 7 cd/key, well at this point they take remote control and expect to do a roll back to Win 7,not possible because I had already removed it for extra ssd space.
Now a full four hours of online tech help and they still could not sort it. However in this time I did do the phone cd key activate log in and have now got Win 7 as it should be but now Win 10 is taking forever to download and I'm sat here at 2.10am wondering if it's going to install without hassle...

Ahh pc gaming can be such fun :)


FX8350@4.5,16gb DDR3@1833,R9-290X@1263,Intel SSD,Samsung SSD,2tb HDD,Corair RGB mouse/keyboard/Void headset,Cooler master full tower,24" 16:9 & 29" 21:9 monitors.

User avatar
Bigmender
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Harwich. Essex

Re: Windows 10

Post #52 by Bigmender » Sat Aug 01, 2015 2:20 am

HaHa its 2:20 and im sat at my PC GAMING :)
Intel I7-4790k @4.4 ghz
Asus Maximus 6 Extreme Z87
XFX AMD RADEON FURY X
NZXT phantom enthusiast case - white

User avatar
darkage
Private
Private
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post #53 by darkage » Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:28 am

hehehe
its going to be big brother joy when all "experts" update to 10 with everything ON
http://fossbytes.com/windows-10-steals- ... e-it-here/
Last edited by darkage on Sat Aug 01, 2015 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

snips86x
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 2:07 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Windows 10

Post #54 by snips86x » Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:53 pm

That's amazing!! Background seemed quite adequate considering ;)

Installed Windows 10 last night and so far so good. Upgraded from 8.1 Pro with no issues, updated GPU drivers and changed default applications for music, videos and pictures - sorted :D
Image

User avatar
Ganji
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 367
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:36 am
Location: Droitwich, Worcestershire

Re: Windows 10

Post #55 by Ganji » Sat Aug 01, 2015 2:00 pm

Microsoft have released a tool to temporarily prevent problem updates/drivers from installing.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3073930
Corsair AIR 540, ASUS Z87 Sabertooth, i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz, EK Predator 240
16Gb GSkill TridentX 2400 CL 10, 2 x EVGA 980 ti ACX SC+
Samsung 840 Evo 250Gb, Crucial BX100 250Gb, OCZ Agility 4 128Gb,
EVGA Spernova P2 1000w, Scythe Kaze MasterII
Asus VG248QE x3, Roccat Kave XTD
Corsair SP2500

User avatar
darkage
Private
Private
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post #56 by darkage » Sat Aug 01, 2015 6:01 pm

so after updating and geting windos 10 to activate you can make a fresh install and skip the key that are asked, because Windows 10 will be activated after installation (needs internet connection) the servers activate throught the first hardware the O.S. installed and activated, but first activation for free has to be as upgrade

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: Windows 10

Post #57 by meankeys » Sat Aug 01, 2015 11:39 pm

It dose not seem to be very good for benching. I have only tried a few bench marks but not impressed at all.
Image

User avatar
Scotchjock
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 369
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 10:02 am

Re: Windows 10

Post #58 by Scotchjock » Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:24 am

Upgraded and all seems good, couldn't use Cortana though, I thought it was supposed to be available in the UK on launch? I can only get it to go by changing language to US, I assume it will be available for UK in a later update?
Also I noticed GPU-Z 0.85 isn't showing DX12 either??? Oh and where has the screen saver options gone?
8700K @4.8Ghz / Asus Maximus X hero / GTX 1080 Ti / 16GB 3600Mhz Team group pro dark / Asus Xonar U7 / Samsung 250GB M.2 / 1TB WD black
AX1200i / 850 evo 500GB SSD / Corsair H100i V2/ Corsair 750D / Acer X34a / Corsair K70 / Rat 7 / Corsair SP2500 / Oculus R /
Win 10

User avatar
Scotchjock
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 369
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 10:02 am

Re: Windows 10

Post #59 by Scotchjock » Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:27 am

Finally got cortana to work for UK, If any you guys are having problems getting it to work with UK language here's what I had to do.

Start>settings

Time & language

Region & language

Additional date, Time & Region settings

Clock, Language and Region

Language

Advanced settings

Change override English(UK)

Apply Language settings to the welcome screen, system accounts and new user accounts

Copy settings

Tick Welcome Screen and System Accounts box / OK

Restart computer.
8700K @4.8Ghz / Asus Maximus X hero / GTX 1080 Ti / 16GB 3600Mhz Team group pro dark / Asus Xonar U7 / Samsung 250GB M.2 / 1TB WD black
AX1200i / 850 evo 500GB SSD / Corsair H100i V2/ Corsair 750D / Acer X34a / Corsair K70 / Rat 7 / Corsair SP2500 / Oculus R /
Win 10

TheMadDutchDude
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:39 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post #60 by TheMadDutchDude » Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:29 am

I can't get the hotkey on my laptop to open the calculator. It just says that I need an app from the store to make that shortcut work which is ****. It worked fine on 7 and 8. Ah well, I guess I have to be less lazy and actually click on it until I can be bothered to figure it out. :roll: :lol:
Image

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post #61 by huddy » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:12 am

I found this.. you might want to give it a read:

http://www.techrepublic.com/article/win ... TRE684d531

One of the biggest worries, though, is Microsoft's policy on disclosing or sharing your personal information. The following is an excerpt from the privacy policy:

"We will access, disclose and preserve personal data, including your content (such as the content of your emails, other private communications or files in private folders), when we have a good faith belief that doing so is necessary to protect our customers or enforce the terms governing the use of the services."



The first thing to note is that, if you haven't yet installed Windows 10 but you plan on doing so, make sure you that you do a custom install so you'll be able to pick and choose what is enabled at the onset. But, if you installed Windows 10 using Express settings, you can still disable some of the default privacy settings.

User avatar
OverFienD
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 2952
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Parts unknown

Re: Windows 10

Post #62 by OverFienD » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:44 pm

Had 10 installed for a week now. My games I play all work fine,with no crashes(Bf4,Batman Arkham Knight,Project cars and many more)
Done a couple of Firestrike runs on all three settings,and beat all my previous scores by a few hundred.
10 feels like a more polished 8.1,very happy with it at the moment :D
i7-4790k//MSI Z97 MPOWER
8GB G-Skill DDR3-2666//R9 290 Windforce OC

CPU-i3 4130 @3.4//Asrock H81M-ITX
Case-Coolermaster 120
//PNY Geforce 460 GTX 1GB
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197971927155/

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post #63 by huddy » Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:22 pm

Good.. but i would look at that article.



MS have this to create a Windows 10 media disk..

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/softwar ... /windows10

Much easier.

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post #64 by huddy » Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:38 am

darkage wrote:hehehe
its going to be big brother joy when all "experts" update to 10 with everything ON
http://fossbytes.com/windows-10-steals- ... e-it-here/



That's quite nawty of MS.. using your PC as a torrent P2P. tut tut

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post #65 by huddy » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:36 pm

I'm sure i saw somewhere there is an option to turn off updates for home edition? Any links?

User avatar
ScunnyUK
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 3:37 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post #66 by ScunnyUK » Wed Sep 09, 2015 4:16 pm

huddy wrote:I'm sure i saw somewhere there is an option to turn off updates for home edition? Any links?


Pro and Enterprise versions can be disabled using the group policy settings but home editions dont have that option. If you want to completely disable updates all together it may be possible by disabling the microsoft update services setting.
If you just want to stop the automatic downloading of updates in home editions but still have the ability to check for updates and download / install them at your own convenience then setting your internet connection as a metered connection is supposed to work.

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post #67 by huddy » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:25 pm

Clean instal lof Windows 10 without upgrading first....

http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2335 ... first.html

Very useful.. I have a couple of laptops that a few people have asked for a clean install on windows 10..

User avatar
Scotchjock
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 369
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 10:02 am

Re: Windows 10

Post #68 by Scotchjock » Fri Sep 25, 2015 11:42 am

OverFienD wrote:Had 10 installed for a week now. My games I play all work fine,with no crashes(Bf4,Batman Arkham Knight,Project cars and many more)
Done a couple of Firestrike runs on all three settings,and beat all my previous scores by a few hundred.
10 feels like a more polished 8.1,very happy with it at the moment :D

Yep, same here, not had any issues at all and all my games run flawlessly with win10 and in many cases much better than when I was using win 7, Looks like win10 is a winner, haven't done a clean install though, just upgraded from win7 and deleted windows old.
8700K @4.8Ghz / Asus Maximus X hero / GTX 1080 Ti / 16GB 3600Mhz Team group pro dark / Asus Xonar U7 / Samsung 250GB M.2 / 1TB WD black
AX1200i / 850 evo 500GB SSD / Corsair H100i V2/ Corsair 750D / Acer X34a / Corsair K70 / Rat 7 / Corsair SP2500 / Oculus R /
Win 10

User avatar
whyscotty
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 am
Location: WIGAN . UK

Re: Windows 10

Post #69 by whyscotty » Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:05 pm

Getting random restarts after shutting down.

Anyone else had this?
6900K - 4.4 :D
Asus X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dom Plats 3200
Intel 750 400GB
1080 Classified
Phantek Glass

User avatar
setter
Sergent
Sergent
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:42 am
Location: Northern ireland

Re: Windows 10

Post #70 by setter » Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:57 pm

whyscotty wrote:Getting random restarts after shutting down.

Anyone else had this?

I had this on my previous 4790k setup. Stock and overclocked. Not seen it yet though on my limited use of X99.
i7 5820k @4.4ghz, Msi mpower x99
16gb gskill ripjaw 4 3000mhz c15
Msi gtx 980ti 6g, Phanteks enthoo primo
Asus ROG swift, ozone strike pro kb, G500 mouse

User avatar
OverFienD
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 2952
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Parts unknown

Re: Windows 10

Post #71 by OverFienD » Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:21 pm

whyscotty wrote:Getting random restarts after shutting down.

Anyone else had this?

I had this problem. I would turn off the pc only to come back an hour later to found it on. I think it's something to do with Windows update using your computer as a server for other users. Go through your windows 10 setting ,and turn off all sharing apps. I think Mr Hudson had a link for this problem.
i7-4790k//MSI Z97 MPOWER
8GB G-Skill DDR3-2666//R9 290 Windforce OC

CPU-i3 4130 @3.4//Asrock H81M-ITX
Case-Coolermaster 120
//PNY Geforce 460 GTX 1GB
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197971927155/

User avatar
whyscotty
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 am
Location: WIGAN . UK

Re: Windows 10

Post #72 by whyscotty » Tue Oct 06, 2015 6:16 pm

Fixed it :D

Changed PowerdownAfter to 1

Image
6900K - 4.4 :D
Asus X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dom Plats 3200
Intel 750 400GB
1080 Classified
Phantek Glass

User avatar
setter
Sergent
Sergent
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:42 am
Location: Northern ireland

Re: Windows 10

Post #73 by setter » Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:28 pm

Nice un, least its a simple fix.

Still haven't got round to reinstalling windows on my new setup. Seems since I made a hardware change ill have to go win 7 first then update to 10. 10 was initially installed via upgrade on my haswell setup.
i7 5820k @4.4ghz, Msi mpower x99
16gb gskill ripjaw 4 3000mhz c15
Msi gtx 980ti 6g, Phanteks enthoo primo
Asus ROG swift, ozone strike pro kb, G500 mouse

syks
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 2:36 am
Location: isle of wight

Re: Windows 10

Post #74 by syks » Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:04 pm

i have been reading that all support for windows 7 is going to stop in a years time,,anyone else heard this? so im thinking of upgrading to windows 10,,,my question is does upgrading delete anything? like for instance my crossblade ranger mother boards utillities? my gpu drivers? motherboard drivers etc?
skylake i3 6320
msi x2 armor gtx 970 4gb
8gb ram
windows 10

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post #75 by huddy » Thu Feb 11, 2016 11:48 am

MS have done a great job on the upgrade process. Effectively, unlike previous upgrades, it's a clean install and only copies what it needs. The old OS is retained for 30 days (windows.old) before it's automatically deleted, just in case it needs to grab anything it's mistaking not migrated.

As for your drivers, id' expect you to have the latest versions anyway, which will be compatible for both Win 7 and 10.

You user data is intact..but you should back this up anyway..


Return to “PC Software”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron