[code][/code]

INTEL Skylake

The place to discuss all CPU/APU topics.
User avatar
kkn_
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 5:11 pm

INTEL Skylake

Post #1 by kkn_ » Mon Nov 03, 2014 4:09 pm

http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/cpu ... w_socket/1

Intel's Skylake will require a new Socket



Skylake-S will be Intel's 14nm processor that is set to replace the Core i7 4790 Haswell refresh in Mid-Late 2015 will require you to upgrade to the new LGA 1151 Socket. The CPUs are expected to launch at Computex 2015 or in June 2015.



Arne Saknussemm
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #2 by Arne Saknussemm » Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:09 pm

Ahh one more pin....Intel probably call that the sucker pin and laugh all the way to the bank

BaDBoY_uK
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #3 by BaDBoY_uK » Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:49 pm

Arne Saknussemm wrote:Ahh one more pin....Intel probably call that the sucker pin and laugh all the way to the bank


+1

But I'll take three thanks :)

TAKE MY MONEY
New rig incoming

WhitePaw
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:15 pm
Location: In Bed

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #4 by WhitePaw » Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:12 pm

Arne Saknussemm wrote:Ahh one more pin....Intel probably call that the sucker pin and laugh all the way to the bank



:D :D :D

User avatar
Matsglobetrotter
Cadet
Cadet
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 8:46 am
Location: The airport lounge
Contact:

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #5 by Matsglobetrotter » Sun Nov 09, 2014 6:49 am

Its always been the same since the begining of time. We keep getting new processors in new sockets and some dealers keep saying buy this socket as it is futureproof and upgradeable with a better processor only to find that unless you are an overclocker and change CPU 15 times in a year you will always end up buying a new MB with a new CPU :-) Thus unless you buy a G3258 type processor first and want to upgrade to a 4790 just before they become obsolete and at rock bottmo price in the market, there is not really any upgrade to speak of without a new socket and a new suckerpin. Atleast I could still use my Asus Maximus Formula 6 through from the 4770K to a 4790K but for me that was still within a year :-)
Lenovo Yoga Pro 3 and la macchina ASUS X99E-WS, 5960X, Galax GTX 980Ti HOF, G.Skill 3400 DDR4, EVGA1300 G2 Powersupply, Corsair 900D, EKWB XE480,Samsung SSD 850 EVO, D5-pump. Copper tubing, Corsair K70 RGB, EK-Supremacy EVO

User avatar
setter
Sergent
Sergent
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:42 am
Location: Northern ireland

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #6 by setter » Sun Nov 09, 2014 11:39 am

I made the move from 4770k to 4790k, also on the 6 formula. But I can remember the different rumours as to wether the DC chips would work in the Z87 boards.
i7 5820k @4.4ghz, Msi mpower x99
16gb gskill ripjaw 4 3000mhz c15
Msi gtx 980ti 6g, Phanteks enthoo primo
Asus ROG swift, ozone strike pro kb, G500 mouse

User avatar
nashathedog
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 8:55 am
Location: Surrey

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #7 by nashathedog » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:49 pm

setter wrote:I made the move from 4770k to 4790k, also on the 6 formula. But I can remember the different rumours as to wether the DC chips would work in the Z87 boards.


The official Intel sites board compatibility page listed my MSI Z87 G45 gaming motherboard as being compatible with the 4790k so I ordered one to replace my 4770k which only oc'ed to 4.1. When I got the chip it did not work so I ended up having to buy a new board and OS. Around that same time Intel removed more than 50% of the boards from there compatibility list. Bit of a liberty really.
Have you ever played STALKER Call of Pripyat? Did you like it? If so why not try some mods that are available including total rebuilds with new maps and storylines, Here's a link to a selection of All-in-one's, Feel free to visit and maybe try a mod or two. http://www.moddb.com/mods/translations

jh30uk
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 3:38 pm

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #8 by jh30uk » Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:09 pm

Meant to ask when this thread was new, what about Broadwell that was supposed to fit and be supported by current Z97's?

User avatar
Myk SilentShadow
Private
Private
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:40 am

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #9 by Myk SilentShadow » Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:09 pm

jh30uk wrote:Meant to ask when this thread was new, what about Broadwell that was supposed to fit and be supported by current Z97's?


According to that article, Broadwell is still coming for 1150..though nothing is said about when.


Interesting that it will be able to support both DDR3L and DDR4, guessing either but not both....though I am sure that was done a loooooong time ago, when transitioning between 2 RAM types, but which ones...I cannot remember lol
MotherboardRampage IV Formula CPU3820 RAMCorsair XMS3 8GB 1600 VGAASUS 7970 Ref card SSD/OSSamsung 840 250GB HDD/DataSeagate 2TB CaseNZXT Phantom 410 Black

User avatar
kkn_
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 5:11 pm

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #10 by kkn_ » Tue Dec 02, 2014 6:31 pm

Myk SilentShadow wrote:Interesting that it will be able to support both DDR3L and DDR4, guessing either but not both....though I am sure that was done a loooooong time ago, when transitioning between 2 RAM types, but which ones...I cannot remember lol

this is in the end up to the mobo makers of what they will build it some.
mabye it can be mixed?
dd3 one side and ddr4 other side? like layout like on the rampage E board?

User avatar
Myk SilentShadow
Private
Private
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:40 am

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #11 by Myk SilentShadow » Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:25 am

kkn_ wrote:this is in the end up to the mobo makers of what they will build it some.
mabye it can be mixed?
dd3 one side and ddr4 other side? like layout like on the rampage E board?



The Rampage Extreme didn't have DDR2 on one side and DDR3 on the other, it had only DDR3
MotherboardRampage IV Formula CPU3820 RAMCorsair XMS3 8GB 1600 VGAASUS 7970 Ref card SSD/OSSamsung 840 250GB HDD/DataSeagate 2TB CaseNZXT Phantom 410 Black

WhitePaw
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:15 pm
Location: In Bed

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #12 by WhitePaw » Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:55 am

after skylake?

Eelcarpet

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #13 by huddy » Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:53 pm

I've een reading this will more more the end of 2015, maybe Q1-2016 as they've still yet to launch Broadwell.. wtf are Intel doing not scraping that and skipping straight to Core 6.?

Arne Saknussemm
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #14 by Arne Saknussemm » Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:34 pm

Myk SilentShadow wrote:
According to that article, Broadwell is still coming for 1150..though nothing is said about when.


http://www.techspot.com/news/59961-intel-overclocker-friendly-14nm-desktop-broadwell-cpus-arrive.html

User avatar
setter
Sergent
Sergent
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:42 am
Location: Northern ireland

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #15 by setter » Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:31 pm

Supposedly a return to soldered die/ihs combo ive read too. Should make a nice improvement with temps.
i7 5820k @4.4ghz, Msi mpower x99
16gb gskill ripjaw 4 3000mhz c15
Msi gtx 980ti 6g, Phanteks enthoo primo
Asus ROG swift, ozone strike pro kb, G500 mouse


User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #17 by Gregster » Wed Apr 22, 2015 1:36 pm

Sounds promising and I do hope it isn't just another haswell.
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

User avatar
setter
Sergent
Sergent
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:42 am
Location: Northern ireland

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #18 by setter » Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:01 pm

Gregster wrote:Sounds promising and I do hope it isn't just another haswell.

Lol, so true. Been through three haswell toasters. Be nice to see a proper soldered chip again.
i7 5820k @4.4ghz, Msi mpower x99
16gb gskill ripjaw 4 3000mhz c15
Msi gtx 980ti 6g, Phanteks enthoo primo
Asus ROG swift, ozone strike pro kb, G500 mouse

TheMadDutchDude
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:39 pm

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #19 by TheMadDutchDude » Thu Apr 23, 2015 4:05 am

I too am hoping that it will be soldered but I don't think it's going to happen.

So Skylake is set for mid-late this year? Well, I guess that saves my bank for another few months. I was hoping for Broadwell to be out already, but that seems to be delayed until late June/July. :(
Image

User avatar
setter
Sergent
Sergent
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:42 am
Location: Northern ireland

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #20 by setter » Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:21 pm

Leaked skylake benchmark figures, though take with a pinch of salt.

http://www.pcfrm.com/intel-i7-6700k-vs-i7-4790k/

No idea what language the article is in but screenshots give the figures.
i7 5820k @4.4ghz, Msi mpower x99
16gb gskill ripjaw 4 3000mhz c15
Msi gtx 980ti 6g, Phanteks enthoo primo
Asus ROG swift, ozone strike pro kb, G500 mouse


Jam0r
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:51 am

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #22 by Jam0r » Sat May 02, 2015 8:21 am

I've got to say with DX12 on the horizon and potentially unlocking more performance from CPUs I really can't see me upgrading to this
5820k with NH-D15S
Asus X99-E
16GB DDR4 HyperX C13 2666mhz
FE 1070
Super Flower 1000W Plat

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #23 by SuffolkBoy » Sat May 02, 2015 9:00 am

Jam0r wrote:I've got to say with DX12 on the horizon and potentially unlocking more performance from CPUs I really can't see me upgrading to this


yeah hopefully dx12 will breath a bit more life into my old 2600k
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

User avatar
Frenzic
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1362
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:01 am
Location: Woodbridge, United Kingdom

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #24 by Frenzic » Sat May 02, 2015 7:58 pm

SuffolkBoy wrote:
yeah hopefully dx12 will breath a bit more life into my old 2600k

It will dude ;)
i7-4930K @ 4.4GHz|ASUS RIVF|Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti WF OC SLI|
16GB HyperX Beast 2400MHz|Corsair H80i|Corsair RM1000|
OCZ-Vertex450 256GB SSD|Corsair Carbide 500R|BenQ XL2720T

User avatar
Myk SilentShadow
Private
Private
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:40 am

Re: INTEL Skylake

Post #25 by Myk SilentShadow » Tue May 05, 2015 4:27 pm




Got a kick out of reading the low end chipset for Skylake is called H110 LOL!
MotherboardRampage IV Formula CPU3820 RAMCorsair XMS3 8GB 1600 VGAASUS 7970 Ref card SSD/OSSamsung 840 250GB HDD/DataSeagate 2TB CaseNZXT Phantom 410 Black


Return to “CPUs & APUs”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron