[code][/code]

how do i switch between gpu and on board gpu?

Discuss all things relating to pixel pushers.
syks
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 2:36 am
Location: isle of wight

how do i switch between gpu and on board gpu?

Post #1 by syks » Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:35 pm

im running the a8 6500k cpu with dedicated graphics,,,i also have a geforce 9800gt gpu installed,,,how do i switch between the 2? if i disable the geforce gt in device manager will the dedicated graphics on the cpu just kick in automatically? or do i have to do it in bios? i dont want to lose all picture and be stuck lol im on windows 7 if that helps,,,i would like to try the on board graphics to see how it runs :)

thanks


skylake i3 6320
msi x2 armor gtx 970 4gb
8gb ram
windows 10

syks
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 2:36 am
Location: isle of wight

Re: how do i switch between gpu and on board gpu?

Post #2 by syks » Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:08 pm

think ive sussed it,,,for some reason when i disabled the geforce graphics card i could still get a picture through it lol
skylake i3 6320
msi x2 armor gtx 970 4gb
8gb ram
windows 10

User avatar
Bigmender
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Harwich. Essex

Re: how do i switch between gpu and on board gpu?

Post #3 by Bigmender » Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:40 pm

Normally you would disable on board graphics in ur Bios. If ur HDMI lead is connected to your nvidia card and not the port for the on board graphics then its obviously ur nvidia card that is doing the work
Intel I7-4790k @4.4 ghz
Asus Maximus 6 Extreme Z87
XFX AMD RADEON FURY X
NZXT phantom enthusiast case - white

syks
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 2:36 am
Location: isle of wight

Re: how do i switch between gpu and on board gpu?

Post #4 by syks » Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:26 pm

Bigmender wrote:Normally you would disable on board graphics in ur Bios. If ur HDMI lead is connected to your nvidia card and not the port for the on board graphics then its obviously ur nvidia card that is doing the work


yes thanks for input,,,the on board graphics are turned off in the bios,,,im using the hdmi on the card :)
skylake i3 6320
msi x2 armor gtx 970 4gb
8gb ram
windows 10


Return to “Graphics Cards”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests