[code][/code]

3d mark 03

Discuss overclocking and share your benchmark results...
User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

3d mark 03

Post #1 by Jumper118 » Fri May 01, 2015 8:11 pm

I'm doing the OLD SCHOOL IS BEST SCHOOL competition on hwbot ( http://oc-esports.io/#!/round/osibs_rou ... /3dmark03_ ) and i am running an fx-55 with a 5950 ultra. this is what i've managed so far
Image
now i thought my 939 rig would be faster, but back in 2014 i got this with my 478 pentium. I'm not sure why this is, because the fx-55 is a faster cpu and the gpu is running nearly as fast.
Image

i can rerun in my 478 for this competition if its going to be faster, but i thought my 939 would be faster.



User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #2 by Jumper118 » Sat May 02, 2015 1:55 am

Update:
been working on it since i lasted posted. managed to squeeze this out of it with ambient temp of 6c. it was artifacting a bit on that last run, but it manged to make it through. i'm still over 600 marks behind 1st and 2nd though. :x
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #3 by nickolp1974 » Sat May 02, 2015 9:30 am

Disable CPU and feature tests, no need to run those so should be able to run CPU a little faster
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #4 by nickolp1974 » Sat May 02, 2015 9:35 am

Also if your not run in diagnostic mode but keep futuremark box ticked and kill explorer and priority set to high before running.
In task manager how many instances of FM scan are running?? Check there's only 1, if there's more kill the rest.

May also want to lose the desktop wallpaper and just use it for your screenshot
Image

User avatar
ObscureParadox
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:56 am

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #5 by ObscureParadox » Sat May 02, 2015 9:50 am

Send me a PM lawrence, I got a kit of TCCD you can have free of charge, that will also help you go a long way in this :)
Image

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #6 by Jumper118 » Sat May 02, 2015 5:22 pm

nickolp1974 wrote:Also if your not run in diagnostic mode but keep futuremark box ticked and kill explorer and priority set to high before running.
In task manager how many instances of FM scan are running?? Check there's only 1, if there's more kill the rest.

May also want to lose the desktop wallpaper and just use it for your screenshot

i don't have the option to run only the first few tests as the button to just run some tests is greyed out. i presume i would need the paid version to not run the other tests?
i have closed explorer and anything else in task manager that i didn't need and i also picked up a few points by setting the 3dmark03.exe to realtime.
i will try running in diagnostic mode as well.

Hivizman has given me a few tips as well so it am going to start benching again in a few mins

i think i am also going to try using my 478 board as well, once i have got as much out of the 939 board and cpu as i can, as i have scored quite high with that before last year with practically no optimisation.

thanks for the help. :)

ObscureParadox wrote:Send me a PM lawrence, I got a kit of TCCD you can have free of charge, that will also help you go a long way in this :)

all these new acronyms are so confusing, i feel like a pc noob again! i have no idea what tccd is, but i will Pm you :oops:

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #7 by nickolp1974 » Sat May 02, 2015 5:26 pm

Google is your friend for the serial key or just go to the futuremark forums and they will give you one for free, this applies from 2001se to 3dmark 06
Image

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #8 by Jumper118 » Sat May 02, 2015 5:43 pm

nickolp1974 wrote:Google is your friend for the serial key or just go to the futuremark forums and they will give you one for free, this applies from 2001se to 3dmark 06

really? i didn't know that. thanks :)

Lurpack
Private
Private
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:58 pm

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #9 by Lurpack » Sat May 02, 2015 6:32 pm

Sys info No need!!! For all 03 posts on HWbot.

Use XP 64 more efficient.

You need D3D overrider for sure high, force off and force on settings.

If the MB has the 01 Tweak in Bios run 03 with this enabled.

User avatar
ObscureParadox
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:56 am

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #10 by ObscureParadox » Sat May 02, 2015 6:54 pm

Lurpack wrote:If the MB has the 01 Tweak in Bios run 03 with this enabled.


Very very very unlikely on a 939 platform ;)
Image

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #11 by Jumper118 » Sat May 02, 2015 7:21 pm

Lurpack wrote:Sys info No need!!! For all 03 posts on HWbot.

Use XP 64 more efficient.

You need D3D overrider for sure high, force off and force on settings.

If the MB has the 01 Tweak in Bios run 03 with this enabled.

The exact system i am using is:
Athlon 64 FX-55@220X13 on 1.55v
DFI LANparty UT nF3 Ultra-D
XFX Geforce FX5950 Ultra AGP Reference
2X512MB of corsair XMS Platinum v5.1@ Cl2.5-3-3-8 1T (not sure if i need both sticks?)
Hitachi Sata HDD with windows xp home edition SP3 32bit currently on it
Corsair CX500M PSU
175.16 drivers as well
i am gettting rivatuner now (v2.24), is there any specific version that is best?

this board does not have 01 tweak in the bio, but i know my z97 soc force does

Lurpack
Private
Private
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:58 pm

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #12 by Lurpack » Sat May 02, 2015 7:31 pm

No any D3D is fine.

You tested LOD settings?? I never benched that card but I suspect around LOD 15 is the way to go.

Did u also test setting the desktop to the same res as the bench before benching like 1024 x 768. For older cards this often helps.

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #13 by Jumper118 » Sat May 02, 2015 7:42 pm

Lurpack wrote:No any D3D is fine.

You tested LOD settings?? I never benched that card but I suspect around LOD 15 is the way to go.

Did u also test setting the desktop to the same res as the bench before benching like 1024 x 768. For older cards this often helps.

i am using an acer AL506 1024X768 monitor so its the same res as the benchmark now. Hiviz said to put the lod to 15 but i have no idea what that is. :(

Lurpack
Private
Private
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:58 pm

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #14 by Lurpack » Sat May 02, 2015 7:48 pm

Use NVidia inspector. DX9 LOD setting set to 15.

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #15 by Jumper118 » Sat May 02, 2015 8:11 pm

Lurpack wrote:Use NVidia inspector. DX9 LOD setting set to 15.

the button at the end of the driver version tab is greyed out and i can't click it :(

User avatar
ObscureParadox
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:56 am

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #16 by ObscureParadox » Sat May 02, 2015 8:18 pm

Jumper118 wrote:the button at the end of the driver version tab is greyed out and i can't click it :(


Try an older version just to be safe but it should work.
Image

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #17 by Jumper118 » Sat May 02, 2015 8:24 pm

ObscureParadox wrote:
Try an older version just to be safe but it should work.

ok.

i have tried 3 versions the oldest being 1.9.5.5 and none of them work :(

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #18 by Jumper118 » Sat May 02, 2015 10:44 pm

can't even get close to where i was yesterday. getting 6300/6500 now. going to try a 478 P4

User avatar
ObscureParadox
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:56 am

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #19 by ObscureParadox » Sun May 03, 2015 1:53 pm

Hey bud,

In this result here, you need to change the ram to be in the same colour slots so the ram works in dual channel mode : http://img.hwbot.org/u47689/image_id_1400081.jpeg
Image

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #20 by Jumper118 » Sun May 03, 2015 2:36 pm

ObscureParadox wrote:Hey bud,

In this result here, you need to change the ram to be in the same colour slots so the ram works in dual channel mode : http://img.hwbot.org/u47689/image_id_1400081.jpeg

i know. i was so tried last night, when i was switching stuff over, that i failed to put the ram in the right slots :roll:

User avatar
gubben
Cadet
Cadet
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 11:17 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #21 by gubben » Mon May 04, 2015 6:53 am

Any mods on the gpu? 03 is gpu bound.
Set the system safe work with gpu then the last points optimate the CPU and mem.

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #22 by Jumper118 » Mon May 04, 2015 5:46 pm

gubben wrote:Any mods on the gpu? 03 is gpu bound.
Set the system safe work with gpu then the last points optimate the CPU and mem.

its 100% stock but i had a delta fan pushing a bit of extra air over it. i pretty much maxxed out the gpu. i have ordered an athlon 64 x2 3800+, 4200+ and 4600+ which might help a bit. i am also going to get windows xp 64 bit to run on 939 to see if that helps. my pentium 4 actually got the highest score so far
Image

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #23 by nickolp1974 » Mon May 04, 2015 5:53 pm

Try this Lawrence ANLPJ-BSLTD-P2LVQ-C90A4 and stop those other tests!!

And if someone would like to post the no sysinfo tweak that would be nice! :D
Image

User avatar
Jumper118
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:36 am
Location: Leeds

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #24 by Jumper118 » Mon May 04, 2015 6:07 pm

nickolp1974 wrote:Try this Lawrence ANLPJ-BSLTD-P2LVQ-C90A4 and stop those other tests!!

And if someone would like to post the no sysinfo tweak that would be nice! :D

if i dont run the cpu tests i get about 300 points less and i'm not joking. its crazy! i have disabled the other tests so that i am running just the gpu and cpu tests as i got the pro edition keys. tbh my super pi 1m score is letting me down the most atm. i am getting sorted out with some different ram and also a drive to put an os for it. i need to get that down from 30.953sec to well below 29sec to get some decent points.

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: 3d mark 03

Post #25 by nickolp1974 » Mon May 04, 2015 6:10 pm

Hmm thats interesting, can you up cpu clocks then with cpu tests disabled??

Are you using wazza on pi32??
Image


Return to “Overclocking & Benchmarking”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron